The Official DSI/Sequential Forum

Deconstructing patches

Deconstructing patches
« on: December 15, 2017, 07:12:17 AM »
I am fairly new to the Rev 2 and have a question. Often times, rather than start a new patch from scratch, I'd rather try and "deconstruct" a patch (well, layer) to get it down to close to it's most basic form ("tone it down"). What often happens is, after I think I have turned everything off that I'm able to, the patch is still doing some wild things and I don't know why. For example, I'll shut off all LFO's, the AUX envelope, FX, modulation sources (I may leave the modwheel alone if I'm not using it), make sure things like "Unison" and "Glide" or off etc. but often I'm still left with "effects". Am I being stupid or is this some kind of real long learning curve process? My only other synth was a Oberheim Matrix-6 which I loved soundwise, but hated for lack of knobs. In that regard, this thing is the "bees knees", but it seems almost too "deep" for me at times. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Re: Deconstructing patches
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 07:16:28 AM »
If you're "turning down" parameters on only one layer, then the other layer still has them turned up, and those are what you're hearing when you strike a note.

Razmo

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2017, 07:17:21 AM »
Only thing I can think of is that you are probably forgetting that a lot of programs use two layers? ... the front panel only edit one layer at a time, and you have to make the changes you say you do, to BOTH layers.. .otherwise you'll still be hearing one layer with all it's modulations...

If this is not the case, there MUST be modulations that are still active...

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2017, 07:32:03 AM »
Yeah, at first I was missing the layer thing. But it'll happen either with no layer lights (layer A) or the "Edit layer B" button lit. I'll just keep working at it.

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2017, 02:44:04 PM »